A year without my preschooler – Week #12 (Holidays)

The first week of holidays flew by, but it has been wonderful to have some time out from our everyday routine.

Monday – There was a 60% chance of rain forecast and with hubby at work all day I decided to take the kids wild blackberry picking. I knew it was toward the end of the season, but hoped we might be lucky. We still managed to get a small harvest, and some thorn bites too. I’m so looking forward to this coming summer when my own thornless bushes will be laden, hopefully.

I wanted to explore the beautiful countryside of Balingup so we visited a lavender farm, cubby house cafe, and The Old Cheese Factory craft shop. The kids were looking for the cheese factory once we got inside, and we were told by the manager that it hadn’t been an operating cheese factory for over 30 years. The kids enjoyed the rabbit warren of rooms that housed treasures from local artists, mixed with souvenirs and antique furniture. I could have spent a lot longer there browsing.

image

Tuesday – Drop Miss 9 for a play date, then take other two kids to park to meet a friend for another play date.  Beautiful sunny day to enjoy the park. Spent time in afternoon making beef bone broth, blackberry/pear/apple pie with homemade piecrust, and planting my spring bulbs.

image

Wednesday – Drop Miss 5 off for a play date, and then spent the morning running errands. We had lunch out, picked up little miss, and went to Bunnings (almost a bi-weekly occurrence during school holidays). In the afternoon I started a new book from the library I’d gotten called 100 Names. It sounded intriguing and I got a third of the way through it before dinner time.

Thursday – Woke up with a massive allergy attack and spent most of the morning blowing my nose. I used to have to take anti-histamines daily so that this wouldn’t happen, but after doing a few things differently I am much better now. So when an attack happens I feel less prepared for it.

After hubby made pancakes and took himself back to bed, Master 7 and I spent time building a lego fire-truck. Of course the joy was in finding the pieces we needed from his big collection, and after a while it turned into a race to see who could find the pieces first!

I took miss 9 to the doctor for a rash on her neck and up into her scalp. He suggested it was an allergic reaction. So we did a quick food shop, with my runny nose, to get supplies for Pizza TV Dinner Night. It usually happens on a Friday, but as I’m taking Miss 9 away for a few days tomorrow we’ve bought it forward to tonight.

Then a lie down, lunch, a lie down and packing for the trip away. Lying down helps as it’s kind of anti-gravity and the nose can’t run as quickly or often. Hubby took the kids for a bike ride and I got some things done before pizza making proceeded.

Friday – Road trip to Perth with my darling oldest daughter for an orthodontic checkup. Visit a friend and her new baby (3 month old). Sleepover at a friends new house, way too much fun!

Saturday – Chill out with friends, and Miss 9 and I went rollerskating. I think I had more fun than she did!

Sunday – A friend’s birthday party, where I got to be the water girl for the evening. I insisted on both birthday girls having water in between drinks, and although they clearly didn’t want the water, I have my ways and means! And yes, they thought I was mean, but only for a short time. Then it was a bit of a game, and it was amazing to see them actually showing me the next glass of water or telling me they had just had one when I glanced in their direction. And the flow on effect to the other party guests, who were also seen to be sipping water in between drinks, was a great feeling to experience. By the time I rolled into bed at 2:30am I was happy, but exhausted. I don’t know if it’s the latest early night I’ve had in a while or the earliest late night I’ve had, but it was a great night.

Leave a comment